Reflections on a Day

It’s been almost three months since I’ve written here – so long that I almost forgot this blog was a tool I could use in my teaching. For the first time in a while, I feel like I just have to write about the day I had yesterday.  All three classes I teach were remarkable for different reasons, and this post is for me, just a method for archiving my work.

#TrendingNow

After spending the first six weeks of the semester on Code Academy, we played with Scratch for a little while today.  At the end of the class, I asked the class to gauge their relative interest in the two tools.  There was an even split between students who would prefer Code Academy and those who would rather experiment with Scratch.  I think that at this point the class can become individualized for each student, and I’m thinking of ways to just run with the big learning target: I can make something.  One difference between the levels can be the tools students use to make their projects.

Trigonometry

We were looking for ways to engage a widely-mixed group of kids, so at the last minute we planned a lesson that included clickers.  It really changed everything within the spirit of the class.  I’m trying to make sense of it.  Engagement is a fickle beast.

Crew

We ran around in a memory palace to learn a list of 15 random items we made. It was really fun.

I’ll come back later to expand upon these ideas…time to teach again!

 

Leave a Reply

