Current Work: SBG Rubric for CCSMP

There are many unknowns surrounding the Common Core Standards, but the eight Standards for Mathematical Practice are not among them.  I buy into them, and I am excited to continue to build a classroom that emphasizes these habits in balanced concert with whatever the mathematical content of a particular course.

I am teaching three different math courses this year, and in each will be teaching/covering/assessing approximately 10-12 different content learning targets.  No matter what the specific content of a course, the SMP’s (we call them the Mathematical Habits at Validus) will practiced in each class.

So here’s my work for the weekend: to write a general rubric for each of the eight Mathematical Habits, so that I can implement them consistently in all classes.  Our Standards-Based Grading rubric is on the 0 to 4 scale, where 0 just means “No evidence.”  This will be more of an exercise in synthesis than in coming up with anything brand new – there’s just so much great thinking out there around both SBG and the CCSMP’s (and problem solving and real mathematical work) – so I’ll be reading back through some old documents and starred blog posts in my g-reader.

My ask: if you have any great resources or thinking around any of the eight standards, would you please share them here?

I promise to post whatever I come up with, along with little narrative of my progress.  Thanks for any and all help!

Just for reference:

Common Core Standard for Mathematical Practice Validus Prep Mathematical Habit (in Learning Target form)
1. Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them. Habit 1: I can make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
2. Reason abstractly and quantitatively. Habit 2: I can reason abstractly and quantitatively.
3. Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others. Habit 3: I can construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
4. Model with mathematics. Habit 4: I can construct mathematical models.
5. Use appropriate tools strategically. Habit 5: I can make strategic use of appropriate tools.
6. Attend to precision. Habit 6: I attend to precision.
7. Look for and make use of structure. Habit 7: I look for and can make use of structures and patterns.
8. Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning. Habit 8: I notice when things repeat, and I can develop my own shortcuts.
Leave a Reply

