Teacher Learning Targets

I believe that there’s so much great math to teach that students should never be bored.  My task as a teacher is whittle the vast array down to a coherent curriculum that fits into a school year.  That’s the fun part, the invigorating part, and the part I feel most confident about.  As I go through my notes and turn ideas into lessons, I’ll be excited to write about them here.

If I’m talking about expanding my craft as a teacher, what I have to work on is what happens in my classroom: the delivery, the technique, the teaching of everything but content itself.  In conversations with colleagues in and out of my school, I’ve heard this same idea frequently.

So this morning, when our new Instructional Guide (she’s moving laterally from an ELA teaching position, and she’s awesome), handed out the menu of Teacher Learning Targets (TLTs) for 2011-12, I chose the second one:

Teacher Learning Target 2: I can engage and differentiate for students’ success by consistently using one or more of the following active pedagogy strategies.

  • Protocols
  • Jig-saw readings
  • Mini-lessons
  • Socratic Seminars
  • Modeling/Think-Aloud
  • Exemplars of Work
  • Strategic Questioning
  • Multiple Drafts / Revision
  • Gallery Walks
  • Interactive Word Walls
  • Learning Stations
  • Reader’s/Writer’s Workshops
  • Graphic Organizers
  • Think-Pair-Share
  • Reflection/Debrief
I chose this TLT as my focus for the year, not because I never use “active pedagogy,” but because I’d like to be more intentional about it when I do.  About half of these are part of my current practice, and of those, I use many without really being aware that I do.  With these, I’d like to make a point of deliberately planning and reflecting on my implementation.  With the rest, I challenge myself to plan and to try each.
Leave a Reply

