Oh, I get it…

Thanks to Jason for commenting on my half-baked post about the chicken nugget problem.  I thought I could have done a better job getting to the bottom of what happened with that lesson, but that’s not the point.  We’re not writing books here, folks, and that’s the important thing for me to remember.

We’re having an imperfect conversation.  So when I say that I tried something, and someone with similar interests reads it and makes a tangentially related note, which leads me to explore what he’s talking about and find this: MIT OpenCourseWare | Mathematics | 18.098 Street-Fighting Mathematics, January IAP 2008 | Home, then the whole blogging this becomes worth it.  I’m excited to spend a little time looking at these courses and further building the lesson bank.   And I’m glad they exist, for someday when I run out of things on my reading list.

This year, I’ll try to be a better part of the conversation.  It sure is a vital one, and thanks to those of you who have been having it for a while now.

3 comments

  1. I was actually referring to this course: http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/electrical-engineering-and-computer-science/6-00-introduction-to-computer-science-and-programming-fall-2008/

    … which of course only reinforces your point moreso since the course you found interests me as well and I wouldn’t have found it if you hadn’t responded. Thanks.

    1. Yes! I hadn’t heard of the open MIT courses at all, and so was poking around and found the one that I linked to. Thanks for the link to computer science one as well. On the programming note (and while we’re sharing stuff) have you checked out Project Euler?

  2. I’ve done 9 of them. A few of the math bloggers are plowing through them pretty hard. I know a couple who are into the 40s. Sheng Ho at Mathing and I are working on them in parallel while (slowly) doing the MIT open course. Feel free to join in. I’m @jybuell on Twitter or just shoot me an email.

Leave a Reply

