For Some People, This is Easy

I’m reading Paul Bogush’s post and I know that he’s out there and that people like him are taking this teaching thing very seriously — because they’re really teaching.  Teaching to kids things that matter, that they’ll remember.

I’m reading the AMAPS pacing guide for Algebra 2 and Trig, with all of its daily AIMS and STRUCTURE, and I know that there are people out there just fallowing it, programming the kids to do what they’ve got to do, not thinking too much, probably sleeping well and having hobbies.

I’m reading Sam and Shawn and others writing about SBG, and I have so much to say, but I’m too tired to connect the dots in my draft of that post that’s sitting there.  I’m reading the other great math bloggers – the GREAT F—ING MATH BLOGGERS, who are so creative and passionate and thoughtful and spirited and I’m so happy that they’re doing it, and I decided that I’m going to have a math blog too, because after six years (after six years, how many of my colleagues are APs, doctoral students, authors?) I’ve never really done anything the same way twice, and I want to hold myself a little bit more accountable to reflecting a little bit more formally this year, so I can see what happens.

I want to see what happens!  What if we just watch a news clip of Senator George Voinovich talking about raising the federal gasoline tax, and we figure out if he was telling the truth?  Can I call that Algebra 2?  And what if when I try that, two thirds of kids are totally game, but the other third revolt because they’d rather skill and drill?  What would happen if I just said, ok, here we go, I’m going to program you, and I’m going to sleep better, and I’m going to look good doing it?  But I’m not going to do that.  For some people, this is easy.  For me, well, I want to figure this out.

But here’s the good news: it’s the future and all of the people who care this much are writing about it.  And every day, more of us care, and we’re trying to put our thoughts to words so we can share them and make them into collective action.  Yes we are.  I’ve come to really believe that this matters.  There are so many ideas of posts I want to write, and I’ll get to them.  But this self-accountability thing isn’t worth losing sleep over.  Save that for the kids.

Paul!  Y’all!  What you’re doing matters!  Keep doing it!  Let’s figure this out!  We have such exciting work to do, and we’re going to keep doing it!

2 comments

  1. Hooray! You’ve been writing for a while – and I’m glad that I finally know! You’re now in my reader and I can’t wait to be inspired by (and steal ideas from) you. I already am inspired by this gem: “And what if when I try that, two thirds of kids are totally game, but the other third revolt because they’d rather skill and drill? What would happen if I just said, ok, here we go, I’m going to program you, and I’m going to sleep better, and I’m going to look good doing it? But I’m not going to do that. For some people, this is easy. For me, well, I want to figure this out.”

    Sometimes I feel like I’m programming. It’s a sad feeling.
    Sam

  2. Sam, thanks for the encouragement! I’ve still been in the beta-blogging-for-myself mode for this start to the school year, but it’s exciting to have a little audience – I’m looking forward to throwing around more ideas with you.

    James

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

